Chickasaw legislators, justice sworn in October 1

This article appeared in the November 2021 edition of the Chickasaw Times

ADA, Okla. – Five Chickasaw Nation officials elected during the Aug. 3 general election were sworn into office Friday, Oct. 1. Responsible distancing guidelines were followed during the ceremony which was live streamed nationwide.

Four legislators and one tribal Supreme Court Justice took oaths of office, which was administered by Chickasaw Nation Supreme Court Chief Justice Mark Colbert.

Legislators Toby Perkins, of Ada; Nancy Elliott, of Ada; Shana Tate Hammond, of Ardmore; David Woerz, of Ardmore; and Scott Wood, of Tishomingo, reaffirmed their oaths of office.

Supreme Court Justice Linda English Weeks, of Newcastle, was also sworn into office during the ceremony.

Chickasaw Legislators and Supreme Court Justices serve a three-year terms.

The Chickasaw Nation Legislature is comprised of 13 members, elected from the Chickasaw

Nation’s four legislative districts: Panola, Pickens, Pontotoc and Tishomingo.

The Chickasaw Nation Supreme Court consists of three Supreme Court Justices elected by Chickasaw citizens.

Visit to view the Oath of Office ceremony, a wide-variety of cultural classes and demonstrations, history and award presentations and the Chickasaw Nation Annual Meeting, featuring Chickasaw Nation Governor Bill Anoatubby’s State of the Nation address, Oct. 2.