Chickasaw election filing June 6-8

The Chickasaw Nation Election Commission has announced filing period for the 2022 General Elections opens June 6 and continues through June 8, 2022.

Candidates must contact the Election Secretary’s office, at (580) 310-6475 for more information and schedule an appointment. The Election Secretary’s office is in the Government Services building, 2015 Lonnie Abbott Industrial Boulevard, Ada, Okla. Candidates may file between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

Seats up for election include four legislative seats and one seat on the Supreme Court.

Legislative seats to be filled are, Seat 5 of Pontotoc District; Seat 3 of Pickens District; Seat 1 of Panola District; Seat 2 of Tishomingo District. Seat 1 of the Chickasaw Nation Supreme Court is also up for election this year.

Legislative candidates must be registered Chickasaw voters at least 25 years of age, residents of the Chickasaw Nation for at least one year and of their respective district for at least six months immediately preceding the election. Legislators must remain residents of their elected district during the tenure of their office. Term of office is three years.

Filing fees are $500.

A Supreme Court candidate must be a registered voter of the Chickasaw Nation at least 30 years of age. Justices must be residents of the Chickasaw Nation during their three-year term of office. Filing fees are $500.

Candidates must bring verification of physical and mailing address, such as a utility bill or homestead exemption, which displays candidate’s physical address, filing fee and upon filing must complete a financial disclosure statement. Statements are also due at the end of every month during the candidate’s active campaign period.

Candidates will receive an electoral packet containing election rules and regulations, the Chickasaw Constitution, financial disclosure forms, biography form for the Chickasaw Times, and watcher form. Candidates must not have been convicted of a felony. Background checks are conducted on all candidates.

Primary election is July 26 and run-off election is Aug. 30, if applicable.

For further assistance, please contact Rita Loder, Election Secretary toll free at 1-888-661-0137.